Russian Translation Dialects

The Russian language has a number of dialects under its wing, and these dialects vary on their geographic distributions among the countries that use the language. Three distinct groups are formed to further categorize the types of Russian dialects, such as the Northern, Southern and Central. These dialect groups have spread through their own means to neighboring countries outside Russia.

Russian Translation Dialects – Standard Russian

The standard Russian dialect is the one that is spoken in Moscow, St. Petersburg and other metropolitan regions across Russia. However, the use of standard Russian encompasses all countries that speak the language, and this is due to its neutrality of vocabulary, grammar and use of certain verbs. Standard Russian usually accommodates vocabulary words from other dialects. At the same time, this dialect adopts a particular type of distinction that leans more on the Central Russian dialect group.

Northern Russian

Russian Translation Dialects – The Northern Russian group covers the dialects spoken in the northern provinces of Russia and the countries near these territories, such as the Ryazan Region and those places near the Volga River. The distinctive trait of this dialect group is that it preserves the unstressed /e/ and /a/ sounds after palatalized consonants, while their preceding syllable is not reduced to [ɪ].

Southern Russian

Southern Russian dialects are those that are used in regions such as Tula, Oryol, Lipetsk, Tamboy, as well as those in Kursk Oblasts, Kaluga and Voronezh. There are also parts in the Penza and Saratov regions that speak Southern Russian.

One of the distinctions of Southern Russian dialects is the lenited pronunciation of /g/ as [ɣ].

Russian Translation Dialects – Central Russian

Central Russian dialects meanwhile are subdivided into six variants, and they are spoken in major Russian cities, such as Moscow and Gorky. Central Russian dialects tend to be more neutral when it comes to phonemes and intonations, and these dialects have served as the basis for the Standard Russian language.

Russian as a Written Language

Russian is written in Cyrillic, and this writing system is used on all dialects. Legal forms and papers also use Cyrillic on their papers, alongside the Standard Russian language. What sets the differences in dialects is the placement of accent symbols on top of the vowel sounds so that they could be properly pronounced when read orally. The accents and changes in intonation to accommodate dialectical distinctions however do not affect the meaning of the words.

How to Look for Professional Russian Translators
When searching for professional Russian translators, it is important that they know how to write in Cyrillic and should have mastered at least the Standard Russian dialect. This is because regardless of the tonal requirements of the dialects, the definition of their vocabulary remains the same.

Since most legal papers are written in standard Russian, translators must also be capable of performing contextual translations of documents and instructional materials. The meaning of the text holds great value, and at times, because of poor translation quality, they lose their overall essence and in turn become senseless when read by target audiences.