Portuguese Translation Countries

Portuguese is a language that, while quite underrated, has a relatively vast number of speakers, just like Spanish or French. Around ten countries across the globe speak the language, both in official terms and as their mother tongue, thus it is important to get to know these countries so that documents to be translated to the language will be properly modified into the specifications of the countries in which they will be sent.

Portuguese Translation Countries - Portugal

Portugal is the country in which this Romance language originated. Despite being a small country in the westernmost part of Europe, Portugal served as one of the two leading countries that conducted expeditions towards Asia during the early 1500s; they also spearheaded the trend of colonization of countries in Asia, Africa and South America in order to expand their territory and boost their economic power. At present, 99.9% of the population of Portugal speaks the language, while all formal and legal documents are written in standard Portuguese.

Portuguese Translation Countries - Brazil

One of the most prominent countries that have adopted Portuguese as its official language is Brazil. The biggest country in South America, Brazil is home to a rich culture and vast natural resources. Brazil has also adopted standard Portuguese; however, it has different structures and formats when it comes to formal and legal documents.


Angola is a country that lies between Namibia, Zambia and the Democratic Republic of Congo. A former colony of Portugal, around 99% of the population in this country speaks Portuguese. The language is also used in formal and legal documents, as well as the mother tongue of the natives as of present.

Sao Tome and Principe

The Democratic Republic of Sao Tome and Principe is an island-nation located at the Gulf of Guinea at the Central African Coast. It was founded by Portugal between 1471 and 1472, and served as a colony for more over 500 years. Like Brazil, Portuguese serves as the official language of this nation.


Mozambique is also a former colony or Portugal, and though the language no longer serves as the country’s official language, around 40% of the country’s population speaks the language. Certain documents and forms are written using the language as well.


A small island nation just near China, Macau is a former colony of Portugal. It serves as a co-official language of the country alongside Cantonese.

East Timor

East Timor is a former Portuguese colony in Indonesia, and it is only during the 21st century that it has gained independence both Portugal and Indonesia. It continues to use Portuguese as its co-official language alongside Bahasa Indonesia.

Minority Communities that Speak Portuguese

Portuguese Translation Countries - There are also regions that speak Portuguese fluently due to their status as former colonies of Portugal. These include the Goa region in India, Cape Verde, and Guine-Bissau. The language is also taught in public education as a foreign language in countries such as Uruguay, Argentina, Venezuela, Namibia, Congo, Zambia, Senegal, Swaziland, Cote d’Ivoire, and South Africa. It also serves as an opportunity language in China, due to its foreign business relations with foreign investors in Macau.